APWA Announces New Board of Directors

APWA Announces New Board of Directors
The 2013-2014 APWA board of directors includes, front row, from left, Larry Stevens, Edward Gottko, Elizabeth Treadway and Sue Hann; second row, from left, Ronald Calkins, Jill Marilley, Chuck Williams, Cora Jackson-Fossett and Tommy Brown; third row, from left, Harry Weed, Jimmy Foster, Linda Petelka and Richard Stinson; back row, from left, William “Bo” Mills, William Spearman, David Lawry and Brian Usher.

Interested in Education/Training?

Get Education/Training articles, news and videos right in your inbox! Sign up now.

Education/Training + Get Alerts

The American Public Works Association announced the new and re-elected 2013-2014 board of directors at the 2013 International Public Works Congress and Exposition in Chicago, Ill. Serving as president for a one-year term, Ed Gottko, PWLF, of Westfield, N.J., will lead the organization, which provides professional development and credentialing services, and promotes increased investment in public works infrastructure and sustainable systems. Gottko is currently adjunct professor at colleges in New York and New Jersey. 

Gottko is joined on the board of directors by APWA President-Elect Larry Stevens, P.E., PWLF, project director, HR Green, Inc. in Johnston, Iowa. Stevens was formerly the director, Region VI, and will serve a one-year term as APWA president-elect, followed by consecutive president and past-president one-year terms. Also on the board is Past-President Elizabeth Treadway, PWLF, vice president with AMEC Environment and Infrastructure, Johnson City, Tenn. 

New to the board is Chuck Williams, PWLF, director of Municipal Services for the City of Lenexa, Kan., director of Region VI. Members re-elected to the board of directors include Richard Stinson, PWLF, director of Public Works, Town of Wakefield, Mass., Region I Director; Brian R. Usher, PWLF, director of Public Works for the City of Largo, Fla., director-at-large, Fleet and Facilities Management; Harry L. Weed, II, PWLF, superintendent of Public Works, Village of Rockville Centre, N.Y., Region II Director; and Linda Petelka, B.Sc., PWLF, of Load Covering Solution, Burlington, Ontario, Canada, Region V Director; Ronald J. Calkins, P.E., PWLF, Public Works director (retired), City of Ventura, Calif., Region VIII Director. 

Board members serving their second or third terms include William (Bo) Mills, III, PWLF, director of Public Services with the City of Germantown, Tenn., Region III director; Tommy J. Brown, PWLF, superintendent of Fleet Services for the City of LaGrange, Ga., Region IV director; Jimmy Foster, P.E., PWLF, Public Works director (retired), City of Plano, Texas, Region VII director; and Jill M. Marilley, P.E., MPA, PWLF, senior project manager for HDR of Shoreline, Wash., Region IX director. 

Directors-at-large continuing on the board include Susan M. Hann, P.E., PWLF, AICP, city manager of Palm Bay, Fla., director-at-large, Transportation; Cora Jackson-Fossett, PWLF, public information director II for the Public Affairs Office, City of Los Angeles Public Works Department, Los Angeles, Calif., director-at-large, Leadership and Management; David L. Lawry, P.E., director of municipal services, Homer L. Chastain & Associates, LLP, Chicago, Ill., director-at-large, Engineering and Technology; and William E. (Bill) Spearman, III, P.E., vice president, Woolpert, Inc., Columbia, S.C., director-at-large, Environmental Management. 

For more information, visit www.apwa.net. 

About APWA
The American Public Works Association is a not-for-profit, international organization of more than 28,500 members involved in the field of public works. APWA serves its members by promoting professional excellence and public awareness through education, advocacy and the exchange of knowledge. APWA is headquartered in Kansas City, Mo., has an office in Washington, D.C., and 63 chapters in North America.


Comments on this site are submitted by users and are not endorsed by nor do they reflect the views or opinions of COLE Publishing, Inc. Comments are moderated before being posted.