Coolest Water Tank Competition Heating Up

Do you think your municipality has what it takes to win the "Tank of the Year" contest?
Coolest Water Tank Competition Heating Up
All entries for the 2015 Tank of the Year contest must be submitted by Oct. 1. The 2014 honor was awarded to T-Bar Well Field elevated tank in Midland, Texas.

Interested in Infrastructure?

Get Infrastructure articles, news and videos right in your inbox! Sign up now.

Infrastructure + Get Alerts

This marks the 10th year that Tnemec will recognize aesthetic, creative and innovative uses of the company's coatings on water tanks. Whether new construction or renovation projects, the deadline to submit a tank for the contest is October 1. 

All tank styles are eligible as long as they are completed by that deadline. Nominations can be submitted by visiting All electronic nomination forms must be accompanied by a photo or photos of the tank. Once the deadline has passed, all nominees will be placed in an online ballot and anyone is eligible to vote.

“Tnemec’s water tank contest has become an important part of the water tank coatings market and continues to grow,” says Doug Hansen, director of sales. “After 10 successful years of the Tank of the Year contest, it’s never too early to submit your project and get some early attention for your water tank.”

Once voting is completed and the top 12 tanks are decided by the public, a committee of water tank enthusiasts will judge the contenders based on several criteria including artistic value, significance of the tank to the surrounding community, and challenges encountered during the project. The overall winner of the 2015 Tank of the Year contest will be announced at the end of October.

The 2014 Tank of the Year was awarded to the T-Bar Well Field elevated tank in Midland, Texas. Erected in the Permian Basin area of western Texas, Midland’s 2 million-gallon composite tank is adorned with a design that represents its community and showcases its motto, “Feel the Energy,” painted with Tnemec’s long-lasting fluoropolymer finish coat, Series 700 HydroFlon.

Previous year’s winners include the Rosemont, Illinois, pedestal tank in 2006; the Anderson, South Carolina, hot air balloon tanks in 2007; the Lake Villa, Illinois, Providence at Painted Lakes pedestal tank in 2008; the Darree Fields hydropillar in Dublin, Ohio, in 2009; the Newton, Kansas, composite tank in 2010; the Hollywood, Florida, “Turtle” legged tank in 2011; the Okaloosa County, Florida, elevated tank in 2012; and the Mt. Vernon, Illinois, pedestal tank in 2013.


Comments on this site are submitted by users and are not endorsed by nor do they reflect the views or opinions of COLE Publishing, Inc. Comments are moderated before being posted.