WEF Announces Winners of MS4 Stormwater, Green Infrastructure Awards

Inaugural awards program and winners were featured at WEFTEC 2015 in Chicago

Interested in Stormwater?

Get Stormwater articles, news and videos right in your inbox! Sign up now.

Stormwater + Get Alerts

The Water Environment Federation (WEF) has announced the first winners of a new national municipal stormwater and green infrastructure awards program.

Developed through a cooperative agreement with the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA), the program recognizes high-performing regulated Municipal Separate Storm Sewer Systems (MS4s) and inspires them to exceed requirements through innovative and cost-effective approaches. 

“Housed within the new WEF Stormwater Institute, the awards were developed to inspire MS4 program leaders toward innovation that is both technically effective and financially efficient,” says WEF Executive Director Eileen O’Neill. “The success of this first year shows great promise for the program as a means to continually support, encourage and recognize this important and growing segment of the water sector.”

The winners were recognized Sept. 26 in Chicago during the Stormwater Congress at WEFTEC 2015, WEF’s 88th annual technical exhibition and conference. All participants received a certificate in gold, silver or bronze levels with three winners from each category selected for program management, innovation and overall winner with the highest score.

Overall Highest Scores 
Phase I – Charlotte Stormwater Services, Charlotte, North Carolina
Phase II – City of Fairbanks, Alaska

Phase I – City of Santa Monica, California and City of Tacoma, Washington
Phase II – City of Alexandria, Virginia

Program Management  
Phase I – Montgomery County DEP, Maryland
Phase II – Lafayette Consolidated Govt, Lafayette, Louisiana

Announced in July, the program recognizes Phase II, which includes small MS4s in urbanized areas, as well as small MS4s outside the urbanized areas that are designated by the local permitting authority, and Phase I, which includes medium and large cities or certain counties with populations of 100,000 or more to obtain NPDES permit coverage for their stormwater discharges.

Applications were reviewed and winners selected by a diverse steering committee that included members and volunteers from WEF’s stormwater and watershed national committees, as well as representatives from each of the following organizations: the Association of Clean Water Administrators, American Rivers, the American Society of Civil Engineers, the American Society of Landscape Architects, the National Association of Clean Water Agencies, the National Association of Flood and Stormwater Management Agencies, and the Water Environment Research Foundation.

For more information about this inaugural recognition program, visit www.wef.org/ms4awards or contact MS4Awards@wef.org


Comments on this site are submitted by users and are not endorsed by nor do they reflect the views or opinions of COLE Publishing, Inc. Comments are moderated before being posted.