WEF Honors Water Professionals, Organizations for Service and Contributions

The Water Environment Federation (WEF) has announced the 2022 WEF Awards recipients for individuals and organizations that have made outstanding contributions to the sustainability of water resources and made a profound impact on the future of the water profession.

The 2022 recipients for Individual Service and Contribution Awards and Organization and Association Recognition Awards are:

Outstanding Young Water Environment Professional Award

This award recognizes the contributions of young water environment professionals for significant contributions to WEF and to the wastewater collection and treatment industry. This year's winner is Brianne Nakamura of the Chesapeake Water Environment Association.

Water Heroes Award 

The Water Heroes Award recognizes individuals or municipalities who performed duties above and beyond the usual call of duty during an emergency to continue to protect the public and the environment. This year's winners are Bowling Green Municipal Utilities of Bowling Green, Kentucky, and Gulf Coast Authority of Houston, Texas.

Public Officials Award

The Public Officials Award is presented to an elected or appointed public official that has made a documented, significant contribution in clean water legislation, public policy, government service, or another area of public prominence that resulted in improvements to the water environment. This year's winners are U.S. Senator Patrick Leahy, U.S. Senator Roy Blunt, Oklahoma Energy and Environment Secretary Kenneth Wagner, and Louisville (Kentucky) Mayor Greg Fischer.

Water Mentorship Award

The purpose of the award is to acknowledge WEF members who have a significant impact on the professional and personal development of one or more water quality professionals, including providing personal, social, and intellectual support. Winning this year's Water Mentorship Award is Rebecca West of the Water Environment Association of South Carolina and director of Project Management for AECOM.

Water for People Robert W. Hite Outstanding Leadership Award

This award recognizes a person (or couple) who has demonstrated active leadership to benefit others and is supportive of Water for People’s mission — someone who inspires a shared vision, is forward-thinking, and truly envisions a world where all people have access to safe water and sanitation facilities. This year's winner is Rahim Kanji of the Water Environment Association of Ontario.

For more details about each winner's contributions to the industry, visit the Water Environment Federation website.


Comments on this site are submitted by users and are not endorsed by nor do they reflect the views or opinions of COLE Publishing, Inc. Comments are moderated before being posted.